A Comprehensive Guide to Words with Friends Scoring Errors

It is very frustrating when you are in the middle of a game and loses points because of an error. Why do you lose points in Words with Friends? How does the scoring work in Words with Friends? Does timing out count as a loss? These are all questions that this article will answer for you.

Words with Friends Scoring Errors

There are plenty of bugs that happen while playing the Words with Friends Game. One of them is Scoring Error. Scoring Error means that when you are in the middle of a game and lose points because of an error. You might have had more tiles on your rack than is allowed or ended up with wrong letters on your rack, etc.

There may be many reasons for this but ultimately it leads to losing some points. It can happen due to wrong tiles placement, wrong letters being drawn, and so on. Sometimes the game just doesn’t seem to want to give you a break!

The good news is that this type of error is usually corrected in the end. So even if it feels like you are losing points for no reason, don’t worry – they will be added back at the end.

Words with Friends Scoring: How does the scoring work in Words with Friends?

In order to understand how scoring errors happen, it is important to know how the points are awarded in the game. The basic premise is that you earn one point for every letter on the board, multiplied by the number of words formed. So if you have a word that is worth three points, you would get nine points for the whole word.

But there are some exceptions to this rule. For instance, if a tile can’t be placed on your rack due to lack of space or because its letter doesn’t match with any other tiles in your rack – it will not score at all even if it is on the board.

The other major exception is for bonus squares. These are specific squares that earn you more points as long as one of your words includes the letter in the square. There are a few different types of bonus squares, but all of them award an extra point for every letter in the word.

So if you see a tile that you can place but isn’t worth any points, this would be because of the lack of space or wrong letters.

Why do you lose points in Words with Friends?

You will lose some score for every time that your opponent has more tiles on his rack than is allowed and also when he uses all seven tiles without forming words. You may end up losing one point for every time that you have to pass. If your opponent is in a position where he has no valid words, this will also count as a loss of points for you!

Does timing out in words with friends count as a loss?

Timing out counts as a loss too, so be careful when playing with somebody who takes forever between moves. When the timer runs out and it isn’t your turn anymore, it will be counted as a loss. There is an exception to this rule, however – if you are playing with your pass play set to ‘On’ and you don’t want the game to end just yet, then timing out won’t count as a loss for either player!

The other time that it can happen is when you are in the middle of a game and lose points because of an error. You might have had more tiles on your rack than is allowed or ended up with wrong letters on your rack, etc.

You will be awarded for all words that were formed even though they don’t meet any requirements of bonus squares if both players use all of their tiles.

But if the game is ended due to any other reason, such as running out of time, using all seven tiles, or the opponent’s pass play, then the words won’t score and no points will be awarded.

Hopefully, this article has clarified how scoring errors happen in Words with Friends. Be sure to keep an eye out for these errors to avoid losing points in the game.

When you experience a scoring error, don’t worry – it will be corrected at the end of the game and all your lost scores will be added back!

Leave a Comment